Expanding Our Expectations

Inviting Holy Spirit Girl2by Nancy Tichy, Author for KidZ at Heart International

Isabelle started when she was five. Someone told her about the plight of orphans in Haiti and it opened floodgates of love in her little heart for kids all over the world.  Another child compassion-prodigy, you ask? Indeed.

I wonder, though, if we’re missing an important point, here.  Could it be that our Heavenly Father is not only looking for the Isabelle’s and Nate’s who are remarkably outstanding.  He wants them to make an important point.  Every child in his Kingdom can make a difference.  Every child!

The possibilities are exciting and enormous.  Every believing child in every family, Sunday school class, and Christian school – each one can move his omnipotent hand to make a difference in his Kingdom.  And the means?  Intercessory prayer.

We adults may struggle with the mystery that surrounds this, but a child can come with the simplest of faith, especially when she learns to pray at a very early age at the knee of a parent or beloved teacher.

Permit me to repeat a true story that I told last year to illustrate this.

ROADSIDE RESCUE

It wasn’t even bedtime when the young mom interrupted her kids’ playtime with an invitation to pray for their daddy.  An itinerant pastor to boarding school campuses in West Africa, way back in the sixties, their daddy was well on his way driving over gravel roads that afternoon.  Back at home mommy felt the ‘need’ to pray heavy on her heart.  Remember, this was before cell phones and texting.  Once the young missionary was out of the driveway, he was out of range of any human contact with his family. 

The children sensed the urgency, and the little group prayed earnestly for their absent parent until the urgency lifted, and the youngest was asleep on his mommy’s lap.  Weeks later, with daddy safely home the subject of the unplanned prayer time came up.  The young dad asked for the date.  Mommy didn’t even need to consult her journal, and when she told him, he asked for a ‘family meeting.’   Here is what he shared: 

“You know, when God interrupted your afternoon playtime, I was driving that long, lonely stretch just before reaching the campus.  No other vehicle was in front or behind; no village in sight.  Suddenly the car swerved and before I knew it, slid into a roadside ditch.  I checked the tires; they were fine.  I waited for someone to come along, a little worried that they might not be the friendly type, or even strong enough to help. 

“Then, off in the distance, down the road I had so recently traveled, a big dust cloud showed me that a lorry was coming along – fast.  I waved and the driver stopped.  The cargo in back was covered with a tarp and on top of that sat six really big guys.  It made nine in all with the three in the cab.  Nine men to my one!  They saw my predicament, climbed out of the truck and came at me.  The driver greeted me politely and then gave some orders, motioning me to one side.  They surrounded the station wagon and, on cue, picked it up and put it back on the road. 

“My relief probably showed.  I thanked them as best as I could.  Offered them some money and some gospel portions.  They refused to take the money but gladly accepted the tracts.  I got some dusty hugs from a few of the men before they got back in (and on) the truck and drove off.  I reached campus just as the sun was setting.  But this is the important part: my roadside pickup was at the time God interrupted your playtime to join Mommy to pray for me.”

Young Kingdom kids, all over the world, joining in powerful intercession. What could be better than that? Whether it be a few, or many, let’s not miss this opportunity, today.

One thought on “Expanding Our Expectations

Leave a Reply

