God’s Light Keeps Shining

candle1by Nancy Tichy, Author for KidZ at Heart International

This comes from my friend, Linda:

I hadn’t been in India very long. Daizy and I had a women’s group in which we simply told stories from the Bible. I thought it would be a long time before anyone would follow Jesus here.

In just a few months, however, several women were praying to Jesus. They were taking down idols from their homes. I was surprised; there had been no coercion to do so. No bribing. No teaching on this.

One day I asked Geeta why. She said, “Before you came, nobody came to us. We had never heard these stories. But, when I heard them, I just knew they were true and I decided I wanted to follow Jesus. I never want to turn back.”

I was reminded again this Christmas time of that day. It just made me think about Jesus being the Light of the world. And His Light had gone on in Geeta’s head…and heart.

  A

    candle

burns and

spends  itself to

 give  its  light away.

A festive taper set upon a

Christmas bough that uses up

its waxen fuel, consumes its wick

until at last  a feeble  ray  surrenders

to the dark.  Christ’s life,  my own clear

burning, gives others light, fueled by a never

ending  faithfulness. Obedience  trims  the wick.

My

candle flames

forever bright.

NHT

The shepherds went back to work, glorifying and praising God
for everything they had heard and seen. (Luke 2:19-Phillips)

RICH BLESSINGS OF CHRISTMAS TO YOU AND YOURS!

Leave a Reply

