Living “Ready”

Brandon let the screen door slam as he came running in.

“Dad!  I need your help,” he announced.

Dad looked up from his computer and waited for Brandon to catch his breath.

“You know those guys down the street who have those cool skateboards?  The guys whose dad is in the Air Force?”  Not waiting for an answer, Brandon continued.  “I was hanging out with them this afternoon, and they started asking me why I’m not around on Sunday mornings.  I told them I was in church.”

“And what did they say to that?” Dad asked.

“I thought I was in for a big laugh or something.  But, they seemed – actually – interested.  They told me they don’t really believe in God.  Still…maybe they should hear what I had to say about it.”

“That’s a good start, isn’t it?”  Dad asked.  “What happened next?”

“Well, we all took off on our boards, but when we stopped at Jaimie’s house for a drink, we got to talking again.  Dad, they listened while I told them about how important Jesus is in my life.  They didn’t even laugh when I shared the part about praying to God to forgive my sins,” Brandon paused again.

“So, what do you need help with, Son?” Dad asked quietly.

“You’ll never believe this.  But they both want to know more about God and Jesus and stuff.  They said they’d like to know how they could pray and how they could follow Jesus….” Brandon’s voice trailed off.

“Let’s take a minute and pray about this, Brandon,” Dad suggested.  “I’m sure Jesus knows just the right thing for you to do.  And, Son, you can be sure Mom and I are ready to partner with you.  Maybe the whole family is ready to admit to spiritual needs and listen to the Good News about Jesus.”
                                                  ===================================

Sound like something I made up?  Well, the dialogue is, actually.  But it’s based on something that really happened to the young son of a friend of mine.  The point I’m making — kids can very naturally share their faith in Jesus and be instrumental in bringing their friends to experience Him in their lives. 

In this case, there seemed to be little coaching or intentional teaching evident.  Brandon was just ready to “give an answer” (I Peter 3:15) when his friends asked the right questions. 

Wouldn’t it be great if this was happening all over the place?  Kids sharing Jesus with other kids and helping them find new life in Christ.

Nancy Tichy, KidZ At Heart International author

 

Leave a Reply

